Posted by Meg Shehad on

There are so many reasons to feel sad these days. We are suffering loss through shootings, war, illness, accidents, suicides, job changes, environmental changes as in global warming and many are feeling the loss of democracy. There is chaos everywhere. We all seem to be in some kind of transition or maybe it is more than that. Perhaps there is emerging a new earth which I call Angea. There is sadness/grief because there is change and things are not the same and will never be like they were before. The world has changed and we have changed. Time to respect the sadness this carries. Take a moment and just let the old go. Mourn its loss, so we can get on with the now.

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in her study On Death & Dying recognized five stages of grief.

Denial - protecting yourself from the emotional pain

Anger - Overwhelmed with emotion, blaming to adjusting

Bargaining - helpless to change what has happened or will happen.

Depression - beginning to accept the various emotions and the finality of loss retreating to just being with it all

Acceptance - still sad while some regret may be present, but able to face the loss and get on with life.

These steps are worth reviewing and you may find yourself in one of them. As a culture, we do not recognize grief. We give it about two weeks and then you should just get on with it. There are steps to this and it takes time to get through it. Everyone one of us is in one of them right now because we have all changed and the world we live in has changed. 

Consciously grieving, keeps you a much healthier perspective on what is coming. There is more change ahead and more grief to process. Honoring this helps all of to become more dynamic humans. Take the time to find yourself in the process. There oils that can help.


The Blends:

Grief and Loss is a good place to begin and can be used at any stage of grief.

Angel Heart Open your heart, heal from being emotionally hurt, helps one to understand why they were hurt and forgive, find the love that you want, Find your special mission in life.

Joy. Opens the heart to romance and fun. Uplifts and improves mood easing depression. Helps to reduce sadness associated with grief. Improve your ability to love yourself.

The Single oils:

Benzoin Absolute - This oil is best used for breathing. Get in a warm bath and have the bottle open so that you can breath it. This oil is absolutely not water soluble and cannot be used in the bath water. It will form hard deposits on the tub surface. For these reason cannot be put into a diffusor, but it is the premier oil for clearing grief from the lungs.

Lanyana - this oil is best used as you move into acceptance. It will help you come to terms with the grief and explore anything that needs clearing. This is a karmic oil and help you come to terms with any karmic patterning.

Patchouli - this oil is good to use in the angry and depressed stages of grief. Patchouli is one of those oils like lavender that can read your mood and know how to show itself to you. If you need sedation, that part of the oil will be there for you. If you need uplifting that part of the oil will there for you.

Rosemary Verbenone - As you deal with acceptance of the grief, verbenone will help to clear the sadness that may still be lingering in your field and make acceptance easier for you.

Spanish Sage - this oil is especially good when you are in the angry stage of grief. Spanish Sage will help you make sense and come to terms with what has happened.


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods